Tough call :(

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

frosted_flake

waaahmbulance attendant
10+ Year Member
Reaction score
I am a sophomore in college and I am planning on going to medical school. Long story short I just got off work and we had a call for chest pain tonight. When we got to the ER the patient coded. I think I am so upset because my family has a long line of cardiac history, but this has happened before when I have been on a run that reminds me of a family member/ someone I love. Is this something we just get used to? Or will situations that remind us of family always get to us?
Tonight makes me think I may not be cut out to be a doctor from the emotional standpoint (after the fact) because during the chaos, I am calm as can be and do my job with ease and confidence. I just get uneasy when I am sitting at home later on.
Maybe an EMT/Medic turned ER Doc (or anyone for that matter) can help me ease my worried mind.
Thanks and be safe out there.

Members don't see this ad.

Em:

We all go through this. Some calls hit us more than others. If you can be calm and do the job during the event, you'll be fine. We're all human. For some folks, it's the calls with children, especially those who have children that age. For others, it may be the threatened miscarriage, as they had personally had a miscarriage.