Traffic Misdemeanor Residency Changes

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Anonymous2399

2+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hi,

I am a MS2 at an unranked medical school (MD program). I recently got a minor misdemeanor for marked lane violation/weaving. In most states this would not be a minor misdemeanor but in Ohio is it. All moving violations are minor misdemeanors in Ohio I got a flat tire and swerved into another lane, then I got pulled over by a cop who gave me the ticket and then I called triple A to replace the tire.

I have passed all my classes (1/3- high pass, 2/3- pass), am in the second quartile of my class, have 4 poster presentations from undergrad (currently working on 5th poster), have 2 research experiences in medical school, and I am studying for STEP 1. My MSPE will have no professional concerns on it. How much is this minor traffic violation going to affect my chances for neurology residency. I talked to my school and they said it was not a big deal.

Thanks

Members don't see this ad.

Don't pay the ticket as this automatically admits you were guilty. Get yourself a lawyer, and get it removed from your records for insurance purposes, other than that I don't think there's any need to sweat it. If it's a misdemeanor category C, it is still a minor traffic violation that should not cause problem. I got a speeding ticket for going 15 over the speed limit on the interstate right before match. In my state this is also a misdemeanor category C. My background check has already been ran by my residency program, which actually is going to be in Ohio, and it was not brought up. I got myself a lawyer to deal with it so insurance doesn't kill me later, but it hasn't been erased yet.

Don't get a lawyer. Just go to your court date looking presentable with the evidence you need to support your case.

Members don't see this ad :)