Transcripts

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

bambi

15+ Year Member
20+ Year Member
Reaction score
When applying for a residency do you have to give them your undergraduate transcript or just the one from med school? Sorry if it's really obvious but I'm a UK student so have no idea.

Members don't see this ad.

When applying for a residency do you have to give them your undergraduate transcript or just the one from med school? Sorry if it's really obvious but I'm a UK student so have no idea.

Usually just frm medical school. Some very competitive residencies may want undergrad transcripts as well, but the vast majority do not.

cute avatar Bambi!

Winged Scapula,
I didn't know that any residencies wanted undergrad transcripts. That's kind of crazy? Is that for dermatology?

When they ask for your transcript do they just get your marks or are you meant to give them grade boundaries as well? It's just that in the UK something like 75% is an amazing mark, at undergrad it's a 1st class and in med school it would be honours but from what I have read in the US it isn't such a great mark.

For general surgery, I was never asked. If I were, it probably would have hurt the program, because frankly, who cares at this point?

When they ask for your transcript do they just get your marks or are you meant to give them grade boundaries as well? It's just that in the UK something like 75% is an amazing mark, at undergrad it's a 1st class and in med school it would be honours but from what I have read in the US it isn't such a great mark.

They would just get your marks as they are noted on the transcript. In general, in the US, your Dean's letter would also note that "bambi scored an average of 75% which puts her in the top 10% of her class."