Transfer to Medical School?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Novo Jeru

10+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
Reaction score
So essentially I'm wondering if you all know of a way to transfer from pharmacy to medical school. I'm a 2nd year pharmacy student who wants more challenge and wants more responsibility. I don't mind working harder or longer, I just want to be happy with what I do. I feel like I've exhausted my options in pharmacy and am ready to move on.

Members don't see this ad.

You probably have to start fresh. Make sure you have your B.S., take the MCAT, and apply as a first year med student.

Yup I agree with the above, start fresh and move on. If you're 100% sure, quit school at the end of the term (ie cut your losses), prep & take the MCAT, and apply. I'm not familiar with MS deadlines so you might be out a year or two and won't be able to enter until fall 2010.

If you've got money to burn and are up for the challenge, keep going with your PharmD and apply while you're still in school. Then you can end up with 2 degrees..then you can go to law school and have more letters after your name than your name itself.

Members don't see this ad :)
Don't forget that your pharmd courses will be counted towards your GPA for most (all?) programs. You might as well start working on the why MD not RPH now.

Oh and for the love of all that's holy, make sure you write legibly.

Theres no way to "transfer", but you could either drop pharmacy and start pre-med stuff or go ahead and stick out the next 2 years. I would recommend the latter, you should really give pharmacy more of a chance before you decide its not for you. Are you 100% on wanting to go into medicine? Either way, I also would suggest that you find a pharmacy resident and a medical resident and shadow each for a portion of a day to get a feel for what they do. Good luck with your decision.

A couple of comments: