Transferring Medical School

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

MedicalSchool2017

5+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hello everyone,

I am currently a Canadian Ross university student. I have completed the 2 years of basic sciences on the island. Being in the Caribbean is an expensive adventure. Long story short, parents were supporting me financially however been a turn of events which has led the tuition cost becoming a huge burden for them and loans aren't really an option for me. I was thinking about switching schools to something like Windsor, or Spartan for the clinical rotations years due to their much cheaper tuition. I have checked with these schools and they have confirmed they can take me and allow me to write the step 1 through them. I understand these schools are not well recognized and are not on the California approved list of medical schools. I really do aspire to become a MD, and was wondering how being a Non-US IMG at a low tier school will affect my future? Will the transfer from Ross to a lower tier medical school show as big red flag on my application for residency, will not being able to apply for residency in all states be a nail in the coffin? I'm definitely not the smartest, and based on practice NBMEs can probably hope for around low 220s on step 1. Basically looking for some advice on what steps I can take, and any advice on the schools of Windsor and Spartan would be nice too.

Thanks,

Members don't see this ad.

Hello everyone,