Transitional year

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

santa_claus

15+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hi there,
I am an Australian med student, who is interested in US residency, and I'm aiming for surgery. Browsing through the previous posts, I read about someone who did a "transitional year" b/c he didn't match into the residency he wanted. Can someone please explain what a transitional year is? If I don't match into surgery, and I'm stubborn (or stupid :) ), is my best option to take a transitional year and try to match into surgery next year? Like, is the transitional year going to improve my chances? What can I do, as an international student, to maximize my chances of getting the specialty that I want in the first place?
Thanks guys!

Members don't see this ad.

A transitional residency, as I understand it, is sort of a mixed year in which several specialties are sampled. They vary widely as far as quality is concerned. Most if not all are very competative because they are usually saturated by people who are doing 1+3 or 1+4 programs such as derm, anesthesiology, and rads (which are quite competative residencies themselves). There are also a handful of folks out there who do only a 1-year transitional year, take their step 3, and go work as a doc-in-a-box or under some other doctor.

There are several other preliminary 1-year programs that are easier to match. The most common is medicine, but I've heard of others in ped's, surgery, and (rarely if it even exists) ob/gyn.

Best advice--go to the websites of some of the schools you'd consider going to. They usually have personal profiles of their students. See if you match the characteristics of the people they take.

I didn't read the rest of your message, so I'll say something else. Take this with a grain of salt--I am only an MS1.