trouble in case presentation

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

babyblue

10+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
Reaction score
help!! i'm a visiting medical student, doing my rotation in IM. Since the very first week of my rotation here (it really is my very first one!) I already have to do the oral presentation of new patients. I'm really not used to it and I feel like I am humiliating myself in front of the whole team. Cause when I get nervous I start to stutter and it really gives the impression, as if I could not speak english at all! I know that my english is still far away from perfect, but i know that i'm not that bad either! and every time i have to do this, my knees start to shake and i can't even get the right sentences together! i'm starting to feel depressed now, cause it's really frustating to feel like this every day on the round with attendings! and i've asked the residents several times to help me with my presentation, they always say, "oh no you are good!", which i don't believe at all.
i always have headache too after that and keep saying to myself that i should practice more at home. but still, i feel that i haven't been improving at all in my third week now!
would appreciate any suggestions from you guys about how i can handle this better. thanks!

Members don't see this ad.