Typical resident day

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

radsgrad

5+ Year Member
Reaction score
I am a 4th year student, fairly recently decided I am likely to be pursuing an OB/GYN residency. I am switching after many audition rotations in a field I thought I would like. This has left me with little time to do an audition in OB/GYN prior to applications opening to work with residents myself.

I am hoping some of you can tell me what the typical day of an OB/GYN resident looks like. I feel like 60-80 hours a week of training is a reasonable expectation as a resident, however I am just not sure where those hours are spent and I am curious. All insight is appreciated.

Members don't see this ad.

Very well, where do I begin?

My program director was a relentlessly self-improving boulangerie owner from Belgium with low grade narcolepsy and a penchant for buggery.

My chief resident was a fifteen year old French prostitute named Chloe with webbed feet.

My program director would womanize, he would drink, he would make outrageous claims like he invented the question mark. Some times he would accuse chestnuts of being lazy, the sort of general malaise that only the genius possess and the insane lament.

Residency days were typical, summer rotations in Rangoon, pre-rounds and luge lessons. In the spring we'd make meat helmets.

When I was insolent I was placed in a burlap bag and beaten with reeds, pretty standard really.

At 1200 I would receive my first scribe.
At 1400, a Zoroastrian named Vilma ritualistically shaved my testicles.

There really is nothing like a shorn scrotum, it's breathtaking, I suggest you try it.

Reactions: 2 users

My program director was a relentlessly self-improving boulangerie owner from Belgium with low grade narcolepsy and a penchant for buggery.

My chief resident was a fifteen year old French prostitute named Chloe with webbed feet.