UC Berkeley Pre-Med or Nova Southeastern BS/DO?

Status
Not open for further replies.

tealsea

2+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hi everyone! I hope you're staying safe and healthy.

I am a current senior in high school right now. I've narrowed down my college decisions to two schools (Nova Southeastern BS/DO Program and UC Berkeley), but I'm still having trouble deciding. Any advice would be much appreciated.

For context, I have been very set on becoming a doctor for a few years now. I don't see this changing in the future. I'm also an international student living in the U.S. on a Visa. This means that while around 42% of regular applicants get accepted to U.S. medical schools each year, only 18% of international applicants get accepted to U.S. medical schools.

Pros and Cons List:

1. NOVA SOUTHEASTERN 4+4 BS/DO PROGRAM
  • Pros
    • I have the option of applying out to other medical schools (not bound to NSU College of Osteopathic Medicine)
    • Around 80% of students in the BS/DO program make it to the DO school --> almost guaranteed acceptance into the DO school
    • I have the option of doing either the 7-year (3+4) or 8-year (4+4) program
    • Overall quality of life: less stressful since I am basically guaranteed a seat in the DO school
    • Minimum MCAT score required to enter NSU DO College is 502
  • Cons
    • I would prefer to have an MD degree over a DO degree.
    • I need to maintain a minimum cumulative science (all BIOL, CHEM, and PHYS courses) GPAs of 3.5 at all times throughout the program. Failure to do so will result in probation from the dual admission program; and if repeated, will lead to suspension from the dual admission program. --> I intend to work hard to maintain a 3.8+, but there is a chance this won't work out.
2. UC BERKELEY PRE-MED
  • Pros
    • I am in the College of Letters & Science, so I can major in virtually anything I want.
    • Prestige/ranking (#4 university in the world)