UC Riverside vs. Boonshoft vs. MCW-Milwaukee vs. Tucson U of A

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

persistenceofmemory

5+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hi all, I am trying to decide between schools and would appreciate your informed input. I am a Southern CA resident with extensive neuroimaging clinical research and patient care experience with EEG. I hope to pursue neurology.

I feel crazy for not immediately committing to UCR since UCs are “so competitive”, but I know that research opportunities at UCR are less available. Also, rent is very expensive in Southern CA, ~$2000/month, so I’m not technically saving much with in-state tuition compared to my OOS options. Though, it would be nice to be close to my family and friends.

I’m also deciding between Wright State Boonshoft in Dayton, Ohio, which I know has a strong neuroscience institute according to their website, Medical College of Wisconsin in Milwuakee, also with strong research opportunities/support, and Tucson University of Arizona, which has a solid EEG department.

Is there an obvious med school choice for someone interested in a neurology residency?

Members don't see this ad.

I can't say specifically for Neurology, but my sense is that overall MCW is the strongest of these four schools. And probably by a fair amount.

Reactions: 1 users
Neurology is not considered as competitive as other specialties. U of A Tucson would be a good option to remain relatively close to family, but you should still consider UCR too.

I would not recommend enduring the cold of the other 2 options if you've lived in Southern CA your whole life.

Members don't see this ad :)
Neurology is not considered as competitive as other specialties. U of A Tucson would be a good option to remain relatively close to family, but you should still consider UCR too.

I would not recommend enduring the cold of the other 2 options if you've lived in Southern CA your whole life.