UConn vs. Rush vs. Jefferson

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Which should I choose?

• Rush

Votes: 10 50.0%
  • Jefferson

Votes: 3 15.0%
  • UConn

Votes: 7 35.0%

• Total voters

frisbae

Reaction score
Hello!

I am blessed but stressed to have received acceptances to a few fantastic schools lol. Would love to hear everyone's input! TY in advance :).

Little bit about me: I graduated in 2020 and am interested in sexual/repro health and LGBTQIA+ health through the lens of either FM or OB/GYN. I love nature but also love exploring new cities. Being close to family is cool but 100% not a requirement for me. I care most about the kind of people I will be surrounded by, as well as access to things I'm interested in (sexual/repro health, wilderness med, queer health, etc.). TBL curriculums just make more sense to me, would prefer one of those as compared to lecture based. Finances are huge IMO, the less debt the better but I do not want to sacrifice irreplaceable experiences (i.e. living in a great city in my mid 20's) for something I could probably pay back in an extra few years in attendinghood -- if that makes sense lol.

UConn (IS)

Pro's
- Students seem very happy
- Best/most enjoyable interview
- Cheapest tuition (42k/year, could lean on family for living expenses in some capacity, Med school is in my hometown)
- Small class size, very supportive faculty
- Could lean on connections that I have already made in CT to enhance my med school experience
- TBL seems like the way to go to make learning more engaging, encourages connecting with class mates
- Solid array of rotation sites/hospital systems
- Ability to work with underserved populations in Hartford
- Could heavily lean on my family for support throughout med school (I grew up in the same town that the med school is in)
- Closest to nature of all of the schools I am considering