UCSB/UCSC students

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

ducam

Pearl Diver
10+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
20+ Year Member
Reaction score
Well if any of you go to UCSB or UCSC, i would like to know what you think about the school. I'm starting to look closer at colleges and from what i've heard, i'd like both of them a lot. If anybody who's a student at these schools, or any UC school, what's to tell me what it's like at the campus that'd be great. Thanks.

Ducam

Members don't see this ad.

I'm a UCSC grad. Schools great, lots of opportunity to do cool stuff. For instance, I tagged elephant seals. If you have to work though it's difficult because profs don't understand time pressure. Also, you can't park on capus so you have to shuttle in, which eats up a lot of time when your trying to get to work. By the way you might want to compare housing prices. I had a 350 Sq. ft studio apartment for $860 and I had to move because my landlord raised it to $1100. Housing prices are ridiculous. Best of luck and if you have any questions feel free to email.

Ducam,

You are the mensa dude who wanted to take the MCAT in high school if I remember correctly. I would highly recommend going to a college that is much more rigorous than UCSC or UCSB. These colleges are okay and stuff but seriously, go to a school that will challenge your intellect a little more.
If you are all you say you are, I am sure you could get into either a much better UC school or even Ivy League. I am not saying there are not smart people at these schools (UCSB and UCSC) but I don't recommend them for you.

Members don't see this ad :)