UCSD vs. UC Berkeley (Pre-Health)

Status
Not open for further replies.

DlTTO

Reaction score
Hello, I am a prospective med student who got into UCSD and UC Berkeley. I need help figuring out which one I should go to. Any insight would be incredibly helpful. For context, I am low-income.

UC Berkeley (Pros)
  • Basically a full ride and paid to go
  • Prestigious
  • Strong all-around, which is helpful if I switch majors and decide pre-med isn't for me
  • Familiar with the area and don't think I would be bored here
  • Pretty campus and the weather isn't too bad
  • More social and school spirit than UCSD
UC Berkeley (Cons)
  • Very close to home, so I’m used to how dangerous it is (could be a pro)
  • Notorious grade deflation (low GPAs) and competitiveness
  • Only guaranteed housing for a year
  • Cutthroat environment?
  • No medical center for opportunities, BUT nearby hospitals/clinics + UCSF can make up for that (still competitive...)
UCSD (Pros)
  • Gorgeous campus!
  • Guaranteed housing for 2 years in an apartment
  • LOVE the ocean and being a new area: SoCal
  • No urgent concerns about grade deflation or inflation
  • Great medical center and lots of hospitals for opportunities
  • Safer
UCSD (Cons)
  • Less prestigious/known (according to others)
  • Will have to pay roughly 6-7k a year (not ideal for medical school)
  • Less school spirit
  • 9+ hours away and will be expensive to travel back home

Please and thank you :)

Members don't see this ad.

Did you go to a very competitive high school?

Members don't see this ad :)
If you went to a competitive HS and did well, you could repeat same at Berkeley. Does your school name starts with M?
It doesn't. I went to a rather small high school, but it was very competitive! I don't know if the level is anywhere near Berkeley, though.

Current Cal student here. I'll break down your pros/cons: