UCSF vs. UPitt

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

DougMan

5+ Year Member
Reaction score
I've been accepted to both UCSF and UPitt. I liked both schools a lot when I interviewed but I'm having a really tough time deciding between the two.

I'm a California resident, but after crunching the numbers with lower cost of living in Pittsburgh it seems that UPitt would be cheaper. If I got PA residency after the first year it could lower UPitt price even further, possibly 50-60k less than UCSF over 4 years.

I plan to look into specializing in something like OMFS heavily while in dental school, but could also see my self ending up just deciding to just do general dentistry.

Any advice is much appreciated.

Members don't see this ad.

You don't get to change to PA residency.

Last edited:
You don't get to change to PA residency.

I was doing some research and was under the impression that it could be possible, although I wouldn't be surprised if you're right. Even including OOS tuition at UPitt, it still seems the high cost of living in San Francisco would make UPitt slightly cheaper. I did also receive a small scholarship from UPitt. Is saving around $40k over 4 years worth choosing UPitt over UCSF? I've been told they are both good schools if you want to specialize. Or is UCSF's reputation worth the extra money?

Reactions: 1 user
Members don't see this ad :)
ucsf COL is definitely higher than Pitt.

And they don't let you switch your residency at Pitt like ucsf.

Check the sheets they give you, add them up and then compare.

Go to UCSF literally just for Roger Mraz.

Reactions: 4 users
UCSF so you can learn how to blow a 3-1 lead.

Reactions: 4 users