Dismiss Notice
SDN members see fewer ads and full resolution images. Join our non-profit community!

UF vs. UPennVet

Discussion in 'Pre-Veterinary' started by Equine2285, May 1, 2007.

1. Equine2285

Veterinary Student
    hey guys i'm brand new to this thing! I have a question I wanna throw out there. I've been accepted to UF and i'm really close to the top of the waiting list at penn, so i have a chance of getting accepted there. Which do I choose if price wasn't an option (UF's in state for me) and I have family in both states! Oh yea, and I want to do equine surgery and both are great at equine!!!

What's you opinion?? Penn or UF? Why would you choose one over the other? (no biasness just because you went or are going there!)

2. Thread continues after this sponsor message. SDN Members do not see this ad.

3. AuburnPreVet

AuburnPreVet AU CVM Class of 2011

Veterinary Student
    Florida due to the climate. ;-)

You go to vet school to become a vet, you go through residency to become an equine surgeon. Either school will allow you the opportunity to get yourself an internship/residency. I would be much more concerned with cost, how good of a "fit" you are for each school, etc.

Congrats either way.

Edit: How could I forget to mention that UF is in the SEC (... you'll wish you were at UF come football season, although - Auburn will own you all, yet again...) :)

4. Equine2285

Veterinary Student
    hurricanes in florida though!

5. bakaduin

bakaduin UF CVM Class of 2012

Pre-Veterinary
    Plus at UF you can relax at football and basketball games when your not completely bogged down at work!

6. ri23

ri23 OSU CVM Class of 2011

Veterinary Student
    I don't really know much about UF, but Penn has a fabulous equine program. All in all, go where you would be comfortable, and I would say cost is definitely something to consider.

7. bakaduin

Pre-Veterinary