UIC vs. NYMC (w/ scholarship)

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

UIC (Chicago) or NYMC (w/ scholarship)

• UIC

Votes: 11 84.6%
  • NYMC

Votes: 2 15.4%

• Total voters
Status
Not open for further replies.

moonbm

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
I know that this thread seems extremely ambitious and narrow-minded, but any input toward this would be extremely appreciated:

I'm deciding between the University of Illinois (Chicago campus) and New York Medical College, for which I received a $15,000/year need-based scholarship. I am an Illinois resident/Chicago native, thus I have a slight preference to staying home, but I would also love to experience a new setting, especially one that is near NYC. In other words, the location of both schools is not a significant deciding factor for me. I also equally like the academic programs at both schools and can see myself attending either based on the facilities and clinical opportunities.

The cost is a pretty major factor, but ultimately I'm not sure if there will be a major difference between paying state tuition (although it may be slightly higher at UIC than for other state schools) and private school tuition with that scholarship factored in.