SDN members see fewer ads and full resolution images. Join our non-profit community!

Undecided 3rd Year MS interested in learning about Pathology. Recommend any rotations (From NY)

Discussion in 'Pathology' started by tmandudeguy, May 3, 2017.

1. SDN is made possible through member donations, sponsorships, and our volunteers. Learn about SDN's nonprofit mission.
  1. tmandudeguy

tmandudeguy 5+ Year Member

May 9, 2012
    Hey all!

So Im a 3rd year medical student. Im also a DO if that makes any difference. Ive been quite undecided all year but always thought in the back of my head that Id pursue Oncology. I've always had a passion for learning about about cancer biology and the novel immunotherapies coming out to treat them. However after an unexpected IM rotation Im a little more weary of going into medicine. I have an interest in Rads as well, but my brother who is a Pathologist is trying to encourage me to atleast try the field out and learn more about it. We have minimal histology exposure in our curriculum and Im just trying to read a bit on my own and hoping to do a rotation in it. Can anyone recommend any good experiences they had in any particular Pathology rotation that they think a student with minimal exposure like me can go in and see whether this is something I like or not? Places in the northeast would be preferable (Im from NY)

Thanks!

2. SDN Members don't see this ad. About the ads.
  3. jmarkant

jmarkant MEMBER 5+ Year Member

Aug 31, 2012
    Riverhead, NY
    Apply for an elective rotation through vsas, I'm a DO and rotated at montefiore in the Bronx.

4. tmandudeguy

May 9, 2012
    Right, but I was wondering if there were any particular away rotations you guys could reccomend for someone like me whose trying to decide whether this is something I want to pursue. Ive had like zero path exposure so far =/

5. pathslides

pathslides

Aug 7, 2016