Undergrad: FSU, UF or UCF

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

BUSTA

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
I'm a transferring student from Valencia and have applied to all 3 schools as a Micro Major. I've been going back a forth between the 3 schools. I am a big Seminole Football Fan, so i am swaying towards FSU. I loved the campus but did not enjoy the surrounding area. Would i be happy at FSU coming from a big city like Orlando? Also, i've seen the large amounts of students a both UF and UCF and i am kind of afraid of too large of a class size. How is the pre-health advising program at FSU? I've heard bad things about the pre-health advising and support at UF. And i've visited multiple time with the advisors over at UCF and had a very good experience with them, although i hear that the actual opportunities for EC and Research aren't as good there as compared to UF.

Members don't see this ad.

I don't really know a tremendous amount about FL schools, but all 3 of these options should give you plenty of opportunity to excel. I would probably choose either UF or FSU because they have medical schools where you would have research and networking opportunities (unless you have some other compelling reason to attend UCF).

Ultimately, the school only provides the opportunities, it's up to you to make good grades and build a competitive resume for your application.

Each of those schools has a very different feel. If you're looking for the best academics and research then it's a no-brainer for UF. If you want to get the most enjoyment out of your undergrad experience, then I would suggest FSU. I had tons of friends from High School who went to FSU and UF, and everyone seemed to love both places. I actually regret deciding to not go to one of these schools for undergrad (I went to BC).

Football is equally crazy at both places, but since you're an FSU fan they get the edge there.