Undergrad Major

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

mike43s

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
I am currently a bio major at Penn State but get very bored with bio and was looking to switch majors. I want to go to med school, but in case i don't get in or decide in two years i don't want to go, i want a good major with which you could get a good job after graduation. (kind of like a back up plan just in case med school doesnt work out) Any suggestions?

Members don't see this ad.

Well nursing or computer science may land you a decent job after graduation. I'm doing chemistry, so med school all the way, otherwise I'll be laying bricks.

I am not an expert in the statistics, but 95% of the people that I know who are graduating are graduating without any job offers. I only know one person who has graduated with a job in his field. And that was a geologist.

I think that if you really want a job after school you're going to have to do engineering or something with computers. Everything else is not really sought after right now.

Members don't see this ad :)
Most engineering majors, computer science, accounting, nursing, etc.

Biochemistry. It's what I got my undergrad in and I was offered a job. Actually, everyone who graduated with me got offered a job OR went on to further schooling.

In a non-related to medical field, except for in the more landscape design aspects, the agricultural industry hasn't had too many cuts.

Engineering majors are good. A Math major will let you do a wide range of things. Computer science is another good one. Education(Science or math) is a good backup. Most other things are not quite as good for getting jobs right out of college.

The kids at my school who seem to be getting the best job offers right now are either engineering, math, computer science, or some kind of business type major (finance, accounting, economics).