Undergrad struggling in mathematics

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Washington Rose

7+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hi everyone! I'm new to SDN and am happy to be here. I am a junior at my university majoring in psychology and biology. I do well in all of my classes except for math. I struggle with it so much and it takes up alot of my time. If you are or have felt my pain, please share. It would be most useful.

Members don't see this ad.

I don't know if this helps, but I will say that once you make it into medical school and forever beyond, you will use very, very little math.

An understanding of statistics (at a pretty basic level) is necessary to read the research effectively, but other than that you'll almost never use math beyond what a high school senior would be expected to know.

Reactions: 1 users
Dropped out of freshman multivar when I had a C- average, (also finished that year with a C+ in genchem). Hasn't held me back one bit. If you're worried about standardized testing, I've scored at or above the 90th percentile on the MCAT and Step 1/2CK. If you're worried about clinical work, there is zero bearing beyond basic highschool math and beginners statistics. Try your best to understand statistics beyond simply p<0.05 = significant, but if it's not making sense just yet don't worry because your medschool evidence-based medicine/stats class will review all of this material and cover the straightforward, necessary formulas you should know.

Members don't see this ad :)
This forum is really losing focus!

Reactions: 2 users
Hi everyone! I'm new to SDN and am happy to be here. I am a junior at my university majoring in psychology and biology. I do well in all of my classes except for math. I struggle with it so much and it takes up alot of my time. If you are or have felt my pain, please share. It would be most useful.