Unique Situation

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Texas+Canada

Reaction score
Hi so I'll just get into it.

I am a 3rd year English Student at a school in Canada: UBC. I'm a U.S. citizen so all last year I was on a gap year in a community college in U.S. where I competed Bio 1, Bio 2, Chem 1, Chem 2, and Cal 1 and my GPA there was 3.88 (I got a b in chem 1). My gpa at UBC is a 2.7 and on top of that, I failed calculus and physics while at that school (actually I passed physics with a c but I failed the lab for not showing up on test day) (and I had a close death happen to me when I was in cal). The rest of my grades there were in arts courses and they were average (some As mostly Bs). I also failed a politics course.

All in all, I never saw myself pursuing medicine, until last year so I definitely was not hand making the transcript of a lifetime. I am now at a crossroads though; Should I continue at UBC and get an English degree and bring my gpa up?

OR should I transfer to my local University and finish a Biology degree and as a consequence let med and DO schools see how I basically abandoned a 2.7 gpa.

There is also a third option because of corona making classes online: Stay enrolled in UBC and register at my local Uni in biology. That way I get to bring my gpa up a bit but also get a biology degree ( I will eventually do my science pre-reqs there anyway).

Pros of UBC: It's supposed to be an "ivy" school but this is only a pro if med schools actually care haha, get my joke of a gpa up, prove I am capable of doing well there (I didn't leave because I was incapable)

Cons of UBC: It's expensive

Pros of local Uni: It's WAY cheaper, I will get more science-related opportunities as a biology major (such as recommendations from science professors)

Cons of local Uni: I feel like getting my degree there after 3 years of being at UBC will look suss to an admissions committee.