Unit Load Acceptable for PreMed?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

drslc134

15+ Year Member
Reaction score
I guess my real concern/question is how much med schools examine strength of courseload per term. But here's my situation:

I'm a freshman at a perennially top-5 university, started off with 20 units this QUARTER. Then I dropped Orgo Lab (which is a separate class and can be taken later). So, I was at 17. Then I just basically bombed my Orgo lecture test. I'm strongly considering dropping the course (4 units) before the drop deadline (where there is no record on the transcript), but that deadline is tonight (4/24-04/25) at midnight.

My question is, then, is it acceptable to have 13 units for a quarter. For perspective, I have 35 units (3 of which were S/NC courses) from my first two quarters, so my cumulative units for the year would be 48 (45), so discounting the S/NC courses, that's 30 semester hours. Acceptable?

Anyone know how closely med schools examine/judge individual quarter performances, or simply concentrate on year trends and grades in specific classes (i.e. orgo)?

Thanks.

Members don't see this ad.

-They like to see positive trends upwards in the year
-admissions tend to look at orgo grades very strongly. I think it might be a favorite for them to judge
-30 semester hours cumulative in a year should be fine
-strongly consider dropping the orgo lecture. you'll be very grateful for having the lecture overlap with the lab later on. I, being that I am a dumb*** and foolish enough to think that I like lab so much, decided to take orgo lab with no prior orgo lecture and wound up with a C in the class.
-what school are you in? if you're at Princeton go talk to Dr. Cummings. He used to be our premed advisor... he's awesome! :D