University of Colorado or Saint Louis University (SLU)

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

sonich835

7+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hi everyone! I'm having difficulty picking between the two schools. I went to UCLA and I am a Southern California resident, so I will be OOS for both these schools. In terms of medical specialties, I am unsure what I want to pursue. I was originally thinking of primary care, but definitely want to have options for specialties like GI and Radiology to experience and narrow down my choices. I am not really interested in research, but I definitely want to have some publications due to the new STEP 1 change. I will consider raw tuition, not including estimated cost of living or total cost of attendance. Personally, I rather invest in going to a school where I'd feel much happier and proud to be at than to go to a school just for tuition purposes, so trying to figure out if the discrepancy is tuition should make me prefer one school to the other. Thank you everyone in advance! I would love to hear your opinions/advice.

University of Colorado (~66k)
Pros:
* Only MD school in Colorado, Denver Health is a huge safety net hospital, probably can see some unique cases since it's a Level 1 Trauma Center
* Relatively strong in research and primary care
* Cheaper flights, closer to West Coast
* More opportunities for scholarships
* Students here seemed less stressed, gave more concrete reasons why they loved the school
* Loved the campus, big hospitals (especially the Pediatrics Hospital), and how all the hospitals are closeby
* Aurora is diverse, Denver is fun and close
* Some matching in CA (went to LA for undergrad and hoping to return to SoCal for residency)
* Anatomy lab during first block seemed nice
* Probably more sun than in Missouri

Cons:
* Relatively more expensive than SLU
* Curriculum seems to be changing, not much communication in this department

SLU (~57k)
Pros: