University of ND???

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Stayce

7+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
20+ Year Member
Reaction score
Does anyone out there have any experiences relating to UND? Interviews, applications, etc? I am a ND resident applying to UND next year and would like to know anything about them from previous applicants, interviewees, or people who have knowledge of their avg MCAT and GPA. I have called and spoken with an advisor there, but of course, she would not tell me anything other than what a wonderful place it was. Any comments or assistance would be appreciated.

Members don't see this ad.

I applied to UND as an in-state resident a few years back...

Back in the day, I remember getting my invite to interview at UND quite late... since they're non-AMCAS, they have their own way of doing things. I declined my interview (got very lucky and was accepted to Hopkins), but I have friends at UND who told me all about it. Apparently the interviews are 3 on 3... 3 applicants are interviewed by a med student, a clinician, and someone else (administrator, PhD, etc) in a panel/round table format.

Since UND restricts its applicant pool, (in-state and American Indians only), the result is that few people apply. If you're invited to interview, your chances of getting in are quite high. The average GPA and MCAT at UND are substantially below the national average (~3.4-ish and ~26)... I think they're more concerned with training people from ND who will stay in ND to practice medicine. My understanding is that the admissions committee values clinical experience quite highly.

Good luck! Feel free to contact me ([email protected]) if you have any questions I could help answer.

doepug
MS II, Johns Hopkins

Members don't see this ad :)
I applied there myself, as did some other people on this board, and I have some newer information for you.