University Programs vs Community.

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

dexter12690

Reaction score
Hi All ! I am a 3rd-year chief resident at a community program in the mid-west. Being an IMG and coming from a lower-tier program with minimal support from cardiology faculty (minimal faculty) it is difficult to get into such a prestigious fellowship let alone being on an H1 visa and being off cycle. I still applied this year after rotating at Mayo for a month to strengthen my CV however the obvious happened and didn't match.

I am dead set on doing cardiology and as I am getting done with my residency, I am evaluating hospitalist positions that will give me a maximum chance of getting into a fellowship.

I am pulling my hair between Temple and Uni. of Iowa. My plan is that by working there as an academic hospitalist, i can participate in research, change my visa status to permanent residency and apply again in 2 years for a cardiology fellowship. Even though there will be minimal chance that the internal program will keep me, i will probably still have a chance at matching at other places which are less competitive.

At the very same time, i have an offer from Reading PA which is a smaller hospital and recently started a fellowship last year. They have a higher percentage of IMGs, if i work there as a hospitalist, i am positive that they will like my work ethic and drive and consider me for a position there. But research is not that robust in that hospital and if in case they don't match me, then i wont be able to go anywhere else and be a competitive applicant.

I will highly appreciate any suggestions, and especially between Iowa and Temple, Temple is an easily approachable area, driveable distance as compared to Iowa but it Iowa has a better cardiology program with lots of exposure, I will prefer the hard work and will go there.

Again all advice is highly appreciated.

Members don't see this ad.