Unopposed Alpha Stimulation

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Mdickson

5+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hello, I am a PA student currently on rotations looking for some clarification- Epocrates does not have a good description.

I had a pt that presented with rebound HTN after running out of Clonidine (alpha-2 agonist) but continued on his Propranolol (BB).

I know that it is unopposed alpha stimulation but not really understanding how stopping an alpha agonist (Clonidine) and continuing a BB causes this? If someone has a clear explanation of the physiology/MOA behind it that would be great.

Members don't see this ad.

Alpha-1 and beta-2 receptors work somewhat in opposition. Alpha-1 stimulation causes vasoconstriction. Beta-2 stimulation causes vasodilation. (I probably should say smooth muscle constriction or relaxation to be accurate, but who cares). Clonidine works centrally to decrease sympathetic outflow (norepi, other catecholamines). When you abruptly take that away, you suddenly get a lot of sympathetic outflow (rebound). If beta receptors are blocked (propranolol), then alpha receptors are stimulated preferentially (vasoconstriction). Thus, "unopposed alpha stimulation"

This is an over-simplified explanation, but I think that is probably what you were after.

Reactions: 3 users
Main take home message is SNS overactivity/NE response (simplified). Beta 1 & 2 receptors are most dense in heart & lungs respectively vs. central/CNS alpha-2
From Lexicomp (Clondine):

Warnings/Precautions section