Unsure of where I'm competitive-- 3.73sGPA, 31

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

JoshuaGuit

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hi,

I'm unsure of where I'm competitive at, or what schools would really be reaches for me. I go to a top/second tier private engineering university, my major is biomedical engineering.

I haven't taken the MCATs yet.

I do need to have my application done soon, and I need a list of schools that I would be competitive at. I'm from CT, but go to college in NY. I don't have anything that binds me to other states unfortunately.

School list I had in mind:
Johns Hopkins – 3.87 35Q –
Harvard – 3.87 35R
Duke – 3.85 35Q –
Yale (instate) – 3.81 35Q
Mount Sinai – 3.75 35Q
Mayo Clinic – 3.85 33Q –
Dartmouth – 3.77 33Q
U Florida – 3.82 32P –
Tufts U – 3.69 33Q
U South Cali – Keck – 3.68 33Q –
UC Davis – 3.68 33Q –
Albert Einstein – 3.77 32Q –
U Arizona – 3.67 30P
UC Irvine – 3.75 32Q –
U Connecticut (instate) – 3.7 32Q
U South Florida – 3.81 30P
Temple U – 3.68 31P

I really want to get out of the north east, and would prefer to be anywhere warm. California or Florida are my ideal locations. My prehealth advisor basically told me to cross off any state schools in the west because I don't have a good chance of getting in due to their quotas. I need to add like 15 colleges to this list, can anyone please help?

Just filling out the normal template---
Cumulative GPA: 3.58
BCPM GPA: 3.73

(bcpm doesn't count bmed/engr/mtle classes?)

-Clinical volunteer activities:

Became a state volunteer EMT freshman year of college through a semester long class. Volunteered through freshman and sophomore year on our university ambulance. Racked up ~200 hours of volunteering on the ambulance. I would be taking vitals/histories.

-Physician shadowing (include specialties and total hours)