UNTHSC M.S. in Medical Sciences (Texas)-SMP 2020-2021

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

universalson

2+ Year Member
Reaction score
Howdy, everyone!

I'm a current MedSci student and wanted to get an early start on this post for potential applicants to ask questions.
Please let me know if there are any questions you may have!

Members don't see this ad.

• Love
Reactions: 4 users
Do you know if there's a screen? sub 3 GPA but a 510+ MCAT have a chance of getting in (vice versa)?

Have they shared any data with you about last year's class or about admittance in general?

How is the year/classes going for you and your classmates?

I'm interested in applying to this program. Actually an aspiring PA student. I emailed the department and was told I wouldn't have to take MCAT, GRE would be accepted. Wondering if not taking the MCAT would decrease my chances at getting accepted?

Members don't see this ad :)
Hey everyone!

I'm also a current MedSci student, thought I could try and answer a few questions.

@Prof_cinephile I don't believe there is a specific screen for GPA or MCAT. I've met a few students who have between a 2.8-3.0, but they typically have a 508+ MCAT. People here have a variety of gpa/mcat combinations, but the program is best suited for remediating a low gpa/high mcat situation. A 510+ gives you a good shot at getting accepted here from what I've seen, although they have not given us any specific admission statistics for the program itself.