UpToDate for Anesthesiology?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

codeb1ue

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
As an IM resident, I turn to UTD and similar sites constantly for information regarding disease management. I know this will be a silly question but do Anesthesiologists also utilize UTD or any other similarly centralized site just as much? Or are you guys relegated to utilizing and purchasing fat Anesthesiology textbooks for information source.

Members don't see this ad.

Textbooks are out of date by a year before they even hit the stores. I've written several chapters. You'll never get quality current research in a book. I use journals to keep abreast of the latest changes. Generally I search for articles on the university's electronic library and print out new stuff or order reprints for the rare articles that I cannot get online. I'm actually stepping into the 21st century and moving everything to a neatly organized digital PDF file cabinet. The iPad is perfect for this.

IlDestriero, check out papers for mac. A new version came out while I've been away, and I haven't seen it. But, picture something like itunes for journal articles. It will pull their bibliographic date from pubmed and match it to the pdf. You can have collections, like tags in gmail. Biggest downer is no way to use it like end note. I don't know if the new version fixed that.

Members don't see this ad :)
IlDestriero, check out papers for mac. A new version came out while I've been away, and I haven't seen it. But, picture something like itunes for journal articles. It will pull their bibliographic date from pubmed and match it to the pdf. You can have collections, like tags in gmail. Biggest downer is no way to use it like end note. I don't know if the new version fixed that.