US FMG - 4th year Clerkships

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

ishryan

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
I woud like to start this thread specifically for US citizen FMG's, because statistically and situationally our situation is different from IMG's from foreign schools and US grads.

This year about 1670 spots were offered for EM, 100% of them filled. There were 69 US FMG's amongst that group matched in EM, according to the NRMP 2012 results. That's about 4%.

I am an SGU student from California, rotating in NYC for 3rd year cores. Step 1 scores - 240's.
From our match reports, just over 30 reported matching EM in 2012, mostly in hospitals in Detroit and the NYC area. This has been the trend for our school in the last few years for SGU. Obviously to maximize our chances, we should try doing rotations at these hospitals (assuming they are ACGME accredited) known for taking our students in EM.

Are there any SGU alumni that have matched in EM that can give advice or comment on how to go about maximizing our chances scheduling 4th year electives? Where would be the choice hospitals for one to do 4th year electives, and which electives should be taken? Does it matter? What things can we do to stand out?

Members don't see this ad.