US Foreign Service - Regional Medical Officer

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

MidwestMD2015

7+ Year Member
Reaction score
I have read quite a bit about the Psychiatry Regional Medical Officers that are in the Foreign Service.

Though I am only a fourth year medical student applying to psychiatry residency currently, this has always been something on my radar as a potential career option. For reference: Medical Officer Listing - Psychiatry So, a few questions:

1) Do you know anyone who has taken this career path? Any anecdotes about whether they liked it?
2) Are there other opportunities like this for psychiatrists? Doctors Without Borders, the UN, and the Red Cross are places to look I know--any others?
3) Are there residency programs that are known to focus on training the sort of psychiatrist that would take advantage of these opportunities?

Thanks! Any information is helpful!

Members don't see this ad.

1) I have a colleague that did this and enjoyed it. If I remember correctly, he typically did a series of two year tours punctuated by two year tours in the DC area. If you make it a career, you will spend some years in DC.

2) There are a lot of headhunter companies and organizations (easily googled) that offer up contracts in all sorts of places. I know of a few folks who went the New Zealand route, and a couple who went to Scandinavia. You take a bit of a pay cut compared to what you can make otherwise, but for the most part they seem to work less. In terms of working with NGOs and relief agencies, you are going to have a hard time finding paid employment. MSF/Doctors Without Borders takes psychiatrists for gigs, but you essentially volunteer.