US Intern --> Irish Doc Application Process

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

thegreekdon

15+ Year Member
20+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hello friends....so here is my story. I am a US Medical School Grad and am about to complete my one year general surgery intern year. I am interested in spending 1-2 years in Ireland working as a doc. I have visited the website http://www.medicalcouncil.ie and see that I qualify for a temporary registration. I see that I may have to sit for the TRAS (still not sure). My question lies with the registration process ...

1. The notary public to vouch for my degree and my internship certificate- can a Notary Public here in the states perform this or does it need to be an Irish notary at the embasy in Washington DC?

2. Should I get sponsorship from the US Dept. of State to get exemption from the TRAS or take it?

3. If I am to get my intern year certifate notarized, how may I do that if I hae yet to finish my intern year?

4. A question in the application "21. PLEASE GIVE THE NAMES OF THE REGISTRATION AUTHORITIES WITH WHICH YOU HOLD/HAVE HELD/OR HAVE BEEN REFUSED REGISTRATION" --what registration authority are they speaking of? Is this not the registration application?

Any input or additional information would be greatly appreciated...thanks in advance.

Members don't see this ad.

thegreekdon said:
Hello friends....so here is my story. I am a US Medical School Grad and am about to complete my one year general surgery intern year. I am interested in spending 1-2 years in Ireland working as a doc. I have visited the website http://www.medicalcouncil.ie and see that I qualify for a temporary registration. I see that I may have to sit for the TRAS (still not sure). My question lies with the registration process ...