USC Post Bacc Premed

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Skibum84

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hey everybody. I graduated in 2006 from USC with dual degrees in Business Administration and Accounting. I now work as an accountant and get no satisfaction from the job or the industry in general. Ever since I can remember I wanted to be a doctor, but being an 18 year old when I chose my major, who was more concerned with partying than anything else, I took the easy 4 year option in business and have hated everything about it since day one. Now I am ready to actually do this whole medicine thing and am really interested in USC's post bacc program, and all programs in the Southern California area in general. My problem is that none of the sites are specific in what sort of grades and test scores they want. I have not taken any premed courses in college and I am not underprivileged or underrepresented. So, here are my questions:

1) Do the UC schools even consider your apps if you are not underprivileged or underrepresented?

2) If I have a 3.2 cummulative undergrad GPA and a 1320 SAT, will I be considered at USC or other So. Cal. programs or is this too low? What if I take the GMAT or GRE?

3) Is it to my detriment to not have any medical field work experience?

Any help would be greatly appreciated. Thanks!

Members don't see this ad.