USF vs LECOM

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Oakley2024

Reaction score
Hey guys, I was hoping someone familiar could give me a little insight. I am trying to decide between University of South Florida or LECOM Bradenton. I have been accepted into both, so any information from current or past students would be appreciated. I am an out of state student so I don't have the benefit of USF's cheaper tuition, however if it comes down to it might try leveraging getting some of my out of state fees waived. Has anyone had success or have any tips for negotiating out of state fees down? Thanks in advance. Any information on Larkin or UF's Orlando campus would be greatly appreciated as well.

Members don't see this ad.

Last edited:
That's a decision between an MD program versus a DO program. I recommend figuring out which degree you prefer. I personally loved USF and do not have anything bad to say about the school but that was many years ago.

• Dislike
Reactions: 1 user
Members don't see this ad :)
Larkin had their first graduates in 2019 and their NAPLEX pass rate was less than 60% per NABP (and worse MPJE pass rate). It is a new school with poor performance so enough reason to avoid.

Here is a NAPLEX comparison that must be considered:

2019 NAPLEX Results

MPJE Pass rates for each school to be considered:

2019 MPJE Passing Rates

You claim tuition is a wash, but no tuition is exactly the same whether its in-state or out-of-state. Compare the tuition cost of each location down to the penny AS WELL as cost of living for each location. Your interest will compound on itself each day your loans are taken out (so it adds up in the end). My only take is if your going to pursue down this career path, go to the cheapest regionally accredited program.