Using FA during first year alongside classes?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

YLFounder

7+ Year Member
Reaction score
When I studied for the MCAT in undergrad, I realized that a lot of the information I was finding in my books was relevant to stuff I learned in class. More so, it seemed to condense and help me understand the material so much easier than some of my professors, especially the organic chemistry portions.

Now with medical school, I'm wondering if it's feasible for me to use FA or stuff like SketchyMicro/Pharm to help me along with classes during first year rather than waiting until second year. What do you guys think? Is it possible to use the "Biochemistry" section along with my biochem block in school or will it be a complete waste of time? If you do think it's possible, how would you say is the best way to incorporate these materials first year?

Members don't see this ad.

I'm currently doing it to review for exams because it is full of useful mnemonics, tables, easy way to remember things, diagrams, etc. It's nice to have some study materials that are pre-made.

Reactions: 1 user
Members don't see this ad :)
When I studied for the MCAT in undergrad, I realized that a lot of the information I was finding in my books was relevant to stuff I learned in class. More so, it seemed to condense and help me understand the material so much easier than some of my professors, especially the organic chemistry portions.

Now with medical school, I'm wondering if it's feasible for me to use FA or stuff like SketchyMicro/Pharm to help me along with classes during first year rather than waiting until second year. What do you guys think? Is it possible to use the "Biochemistry" section along with my biochem block in school or will it be a complete waste of time? If you do think it's possible, how would you say is the best way to incorporate these materials first year?