Using Zanki in MS1 year (traditional curriculum)?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

trident_gum

5+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hello everyone, I am an incoming OSM-1 student this year and I was wondering if anybody started Zanki in their MS1 years, and if so, how did they incorporate it into their curriculum if your school follows a more traditional curriculum instead of systems-based? Can I adjust the tags on the Zanki cards just for biochem, and etc or did people wait the curriculum started covering systems?

Members don't see this ad.

Yes, I use the AnKing deck, its zanki combined with a few other decks and its biggest advantage is how many tags it has. You just go through and unsuspend relevant cards to you, and keep up with them, like don't suspend them after you finish a class. He also has a YouTube channel showing the best ways to use the deck

Reactions: 2 users
Personally I wouldn't start using it for the traditional M1 curriculum. Don't see it as conceptual enough for physio, not detailed enough for biochem or histo, and generally doesn't play super well for M1 curricula. Arguably the exceptions to that are immuno and micro (with sketchy)-- both of which I'd recommend. But for the most part, I don't think its particularly synchronous. Especially with Step being P/F now, just focus on doing well in your classes for the first year.

Reactions: 1 user
Members don't see this ad :)
Hello everyone, I am an incoming OSM-1 student this year and I was wondering if anybody started Zanki in their MS1 years, and if so, how did they incorporate it into their curriculum if your school follows a more traditional curriculum instead of systems-based? Can I adjust the tags on the Zanki cards just for biochem, and etc or did people wait the curriculum started covering systems?