USMLE requirements for Pain Fellowships

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

dr green

10+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
Reaction score
Does anyone know if Steps 1-3 of USMLE are always required for allopathic pain managment fellowships, or if the COMLEX series can be accepted? I am an osteopathic medical student, and will complete all 3 levels of COMLEX, and have also completed USMLE step 1 and Step 2CK. I am wondering if I should take Step 2CE so that I would be eligible for Step 3 next year? I am wondering if completing all steps of USMLE would be mandatory, or if most programs accept COMLEX? Any info would be greatly appreciated. Thanks.

Members don't see this ad.

Does anyone know if Steps 1-3 of USMLE are always required for allopathic pain managment fellowships, or if the COMLEX series can be accepted? I am an osteopathic medical student, and will complete all 3 levels of COMLEX, and have also completed USMLE step 1 and Step 2CK. I am wondering if I should take Step 2CE so that I would be eligible for Step 3 next year? I am wondering if completing all steps of USMLE would be mandatory, or if most programs accept COMLEX? Any info would be greatly appreciated. Thanks.

COMLEX is fine, thats all you need.

COMLEX is fine, thats all you need.

Ditto on the COMLEX. No one asked me once where were my USMLE scores were when I applied for fellowships. You can take it for comfort sake, but you've already done the two more important USMLE Steps anyways. The Step 3 (COMLEX or USMLE) is usually used to make sure you will be able to be licensed wherever you go...

Members don't see this ad :)