UT Houston Cardiology Fellowship (UTH)

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Parzival__MD

Reaction score
Hey guys,

I have been meaning to post on here and other forums for quite some time. First, I am a relatively recent grad from cards fellowship at UT Houston Cardiology (UTH). I wish you all the best of luck in the application cycle.

This is meant as a public service announcement about UT Houston Cardiology program. After training there, I can tell you it's probably one of the worst academic programs in the country.

1. The culture is horrendous. From day 1, you will be used as cheap labor to do scut work, refill potassium and see mindless consults at MD Anderson. The teaching is EXTREMELY poor, there is no curriculum and no PROTECTED teaching time. The attendings have no desire or ability to teach; you are there to keep the wheels moving and do their work. Most time if you are in conference you will be paged away to answer calls or consent patients. Attendings treat you more like residents or med students then colleagues. The PAs/NPs and device reps get treated far better than any of the fellows. I have heard from current fellows that they may be on probation from the ACGME as they were investigated last year for duty hour violations. The fellows also told me that some PDs forced fellows to falsify their duty hours to be compliant. That is INSANE.

You have to carry a spectra link mobile phone so nurses or anyone can call you 24/7 while in hospital.

You do 24 hour call and night call the first year which includes covering CCU(15-20 beds), Heart Failure ICU(40-60 beds!!!), CV ICU(15-20 beds), floor beds(50-60), ER consults/STEMI, EP consults, Private attending consults(yes, private attendings who you have never met before), supervise residents(many of which weren't signed off on lines in their 3rd year). That spectralink sound will give you PTSD.