VCOM-CC vs NSU-KPCOM (Davie)

stormcloakdoctor

Mar 19, 2020
  1. Pre-Medical
    Edward Via College of Osteopathic Medicine (VCOM) - Carolinas Campus

Pros
    • Cheaper tuition (45k)
    • Faculty and administration are known to be very welcoming and supportive, and I also got this impression in my communication/interview with them.
    • Facilities are beautiful and new. Full cadaver lab.
    • Higher match rates and board scores.

Cons
    • Traditionally has mandatory (80%) attendance, but since COVID happened, I have been told that they received good feedback on optional attendance and are reconsidering their policy on this.
    • Professional dress code. I do not mind this.
    • Far from family (10 hour drive, 3 hour flight). I am a Florida resident.
    • Unsure that there is much to do in Spartanburg, SC.

Nova Southeastern University Kiran C. Patel College of Osteopathic Medicine (NSU-KPCOM) - Davie Campus

Pros
    • Only a 1 hour drive from very supportive parents (who would cook and help out with laundry/cleaning stuff).
    • More established school.
    • University with many colleges, which could be a pro in terms of resources, but could also be a distraction (undergraduates)
    • South Florida

Cons
    • More expensive (55k) with much more expensive COA. Overall, I would be 100k more in debt at the end of the 4 years compared to if I attended VCOM.
    • Declining board scores in recent years.
    • Shady business going on with their administration. Check out this reddit thread. I am strongly dissuaded about the school because of the comments on this post.
    • No cadaver lab access.
    • Smaller con but ex-girlfriend attends here..