Lifetime Donor
10+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
Aug 24, 1999
The Land of Lincoln
Visit site
Status
Attending Physician
I tell the ED attending helping another resident place a line that he had contaminated himself and the line. He thought I was joking. To protect the patient (who was already septic), I told the ICU attending that the line was dirty. I got yelled at for not calling the ICU attending to put the line in (bp in the 60's, no peripheral access. Yeah, the patient can wait until you get here . . .) Well, the ICU attending says something smart to the ED attending (no love lost between them) that he put in a dirty line. So I get yelled at again by the ED attending for not talking to him first!

Thank goodness there are less than 240 days left in this hell hole.

Heme/Onc

10+ Year Member
5+ Year Member
Jul 19, 2005
Status
I am a fourth year medical student who really knows nothing about the life of a resident but it sounds to me like you were stuck between a rock and a hard place. I am sorry that happened to you.

APACHE3

10+ Year Member
5+ Year Member
Mar 24, 2005
Status
Can you post your rotation eval, because this should be good! I hope you weren't counting on honors! :D

OP
A

Annette

gainfully employed
Lifetime Donor
10+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
Aug 24, 1999
The Land of Lincoln
Visit site
Status
Attending Physician
A wonderful update: "We pulled the triple lumen out of her femoral ARTERY, and made her CCO, which should have been done initially." God, he has a way to make it sound like I enjoy torturing puppies!

The patient was DNR- CCA (no intubation, no CPR), but another ED attending (not the dirty line one) convinced the family to intubate the patient while I had been called away to see a crashing patient on the floor.

southerndoc

life is good
Moderator Emeritus
Lifetime Donor
15+ Year Member
Jun 6, 2002
Atlanta
Status
Attending Physician
Annette said: