Very Concerned

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

qwerty751

7+ Year Member
Reaction score
I am very concerned about the status of my med school application. For a little background, I was pre-PT until this past year when I decided it wasn't for me so I switched to pre-med. I am technically Biology Pre Med with a minor in psychology. My total GPA is a 3.73 with my science gpa being higher. Recently got a 498 on MCAT and retaking later this month. What concerns me is my apparent lack of work. I am currently shadowing my family physician and I have been working in my schools chemistry lab as a research assistants/TA for 3 years which has taken up a majority of my time this summer and in terms of humanity activities I am apart of a choir that travels around to nursing homes and shelters. But outside of that I have no clinical volunteer experience. I have had a couple of stints of volunteering at soup kitchens and a walk for MS patients, along with some science department activities, but outside of that I have no volunteering in a clinical setting. And I am afraid that it's getting too late for me to do anything about the clinical aspect since I planned on applying once I get my second MCAT score in late August. And I was hoping to not skip a year, but I am afraid my options are slowly going away. And since I joined so late I feel like I haven't been as up to date on what I needed to be doing and with such little time I have had. So is it too late for me for this cycle?

Members don't see this ad.

It really is never too late to pursue a career in medicine. First, may I ask: what made you decide to not pursue a career in Physical Therapy? Your GPA is excellent and overall is competitive, along with your other extracurricular activities (several years in research, humanity activities, etc). I think your application would be at least competitive for consideration for PT school.

Last edited: