Very low step1, reality of matching neurology or IM

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Ej22

7+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hey all,

Need an honest opinion of where to go from here. I honored and high passed all of my classes in medical school. I studied 6 weeks for boards. I ended up getting a 199, and am still shell shocked. My med school has a reputation of not preparing their students well enough for step1. Also had some family stuff going on, a parent sick and should've pushed my exam back but school wouldn't let me. No excuse is really going to matter any way, the score is what it is. I know I am not stupid. I'm on my surgery rotation right now and my attending has commented on how impressed they are by my clinical skills.
This score has literally destroyed me... feel like I worked my tail off and sacrificed so much and now I'm going to be labeled stupid and a failure to anyone who sees my score.
Further, is it even worth continuing? If I don't have a future matching anywhere should I quit now?
I wanted to go into neurology or possibly IM. I also wanted to match at an academic center and participate in neuro clinical trials which seems like that will be impossible now.
I need people to actually give me some sort of perspective/reality of how much step1 is weighted. Right now it feels like my future is over.

Please help! Any advice appreciated!

Members don't see this ad.

Your future in medicine will certainly be over if you quit. If you stick with medicine, which you certainly should, your future is far from over. The score is in the books so it's time to divert your attention to the rest of your application - clinical performance, LORs, Step 2 scores, and research are the things you still control.