Volunteer Experience

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Germanblossom

7+ Year Member
Reaction score
So I am getting closer to finishing up my degree and having to get prepared to take the MCAT and then start applications. But something that is giving me an incredible amount of anxiety is volunteer experience. I am sure some people think its ridiculous that I'd have none but I literally do not have time. I have been working since I was 16. And of course I actually had two jobs and still went to school full time. Once I graduated its been the same ever since. I take 5-6 college courses each semester and I have two full time jobs. I barely have time to do homework and I sleep maybe 5-6 hours a night (depending on my course work sometimes less). I work every single day and sometimes get a Wednesday (rare) off, I even work in between classes. I truly cant afford to not work due to family obligations (I help support my mother by helping to pay her mortgage and other bills, groceries ect.) . So its simple if I don't work and pay she loses the house and my sisters and mother suffer.

So my question is, how important is volunteer experience on an application? Am I going to be denied/less of an applicant because of my lack of experience?

Members don't see this ad.

I really hope there's a way to justify this that would be satisfactory to adcoms. Very good reason for not being able to get any done during the year. Do you also have no time to squeeze anything in during the summer?

I know in Canada they're much more concerned with hours that you put in on top of school for this very reason. But I guess that's why everyone always says we're the greatest country in the world.