Volunteer, Research, Work Experience

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

GypsieFace

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
I am new to this...blog thing and pre dentistry path so hello.
I would love to hear about peoples experiences or any advice anyone may have about the following:

For those with research experience, were those obtained through your university?

I think doing research would be cool, but I'm not sure how one goes about doing it.

Also, is there an advantage to working as a dental assistant over just shadowing someone? (other than the money of course)

Has anyone volunteered at any of the free/sliding scale clinics in Chicago? I'm going to be contacting places soon, am exciting about helping out there.

Thanks guys :love:

Members don't see this ad.

Heyy! first of all I would love to say welcome on board the StudentDoctor Forums.

Wohh, I'm in the chi too, nice to see we got other chicagoans on the forum...

Im a sophomore predent in the suburbs

Everythings helps, any experience, but it depends on what you can manage and what your schedules like.

I have been shadowing a dentist for the last 7 months, i shadowed and just helped out, the more i got used to the setting the more hands on experience i was getting. Now im basically an on call assistant, and since im on break now, i get called in more often bec of the nasty weather we have been getting in the chi. I find assisting to be alot of fun, over just shadowing. My dentist is really good about explaining all the details, and is really nice about bearing with me, bec im not a very experienced dental assistant, but im learning and im getting better. I've been looking for a regular part time assisting job, but all places want experience, and i found that the little assisting i do when i fill in works well for me.