W2 vs 1099

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

midwesterner123

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
As I am a new graduate from residency can you tell me in the field of anesthesiology in present day 2015, which is better a W2 position or a 1099 position?

Members don't see this ad.

Depends how good the benefits are as W2.

I have been both.

As a general rule there are more tax advantages as a 1099. Usually you can make ur "effective" tax rate around 10-15% as a percentage of ur total 1099 income. Some people are savvy enough or just like to play the game so much where their effective tax rate is like 5-8% after all their business deductions. I had friend who purchase like 5 flat screen Phillips elite flat screens when they were $5000 each back in the mid 2000s just so he could have a $25000 write off. But that's just waste ful spending to me. Cause at the end of the day ur deduction is really just about a 33% discount.

Anyways compare what ur actual benefits are as a W2. Some W2 jobs suck in terms of benefits.

Do you have access to more 403b? 457b? Roth 457b or 403b? As W2? Do u have access to 401a with immediate vesting 9-10% matching?

What's the W2 health benefits worth?

So u have to do a lot of math. Sick leave? Paid holidays?

I also been in academics where benefits were worth easily $50k-70k each year.

There are W2 jobs that don't give u jack either. No paid sick leave. No tail can't coverage. No health benefits for spouses or dependents. No paid holidays. No sick leave

Reactions: 1 user
It all really depends on the gig and your particular situation. I'm going from a 1099 to a W-2.
I much prefer my old 1099. My current benefits are excellent, but my old 1099 let me do a lot more with my finances and structure of my business. You can't really say one is better than the other without looking under the covers with scrutiny.

Members don't see this ad :)