Wait another year or apply & retake?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

corpus luteum

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
GPA: 3.6, 3.55 sGPA
MCAT: B11 V9 P11 =31Q

My MCAT score turned out well below the range I had been scoring in on my diags-- mid 30's w/ high of 41 on recent AAMC diag, 2 days before my real test. I dont know if it was a fluke or if I was nervous (probably both). What worries me most is the 9 on verbal.

I have 2 years research experience, good clinical experience, leadership, teaching, and 4 decent LOR.

My question is.. will I have a good shot if I apply in June, retake my MCAT in mid-July and send in my updated score in mid-August?

Members don't see this ad.

Last edited:
GPA: 3.6 from UC Berkeley, 3.55 sGPA
MCAT: B11 V9 P11 =31Q

My MCAT score turned out well below the range I had been scoring in on my diags-- mid 30's w/ high of 41 on recent AAMC diag, 2 days before my real test. I dont know if it was a fluke or if I was nervous (probably both). What worries me most is the 9 on verbal.

I have 2 years research experience, good clinical experience, leadership, teaching, and 4 decent LOR.

My question is.. will I have a good shot if I apply in June, retake my MCAT in mid-July and send in my updated score in mid-August?

Time wise I think you will be okay......

What are my chances of getting an acceptance somewhere in the US with my current stats?

Members don't see this ad :)
Thanks, Cat. But if I mark on AMCAS that I am re-taking the MCAT, will it be equivalent to submitting a late AMCAS? Will all schools set my app aside until the new score is in or will schools in the lower range begin offering me interviews?