waitlisted..how should i make app better?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

teenie

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
So I got waitlisted at all the schools I applied to except one (rejected). I turned in my app in August and interviewed at 2 schools in Nov and one in Feb. I am a non traditional student. I served 4 years in the Navy after high school and am married with a 7 year old.

My cGPA is 3.94
My sGPA is 3.90

My MCAT is low
ps - 8
vr -10
bs - 10

No research exp.
No publications
Volunteered - 6 months at Vol FD with EMTs
Medical Assistant/Technician at pediatric office - 8 months
Awards- Deans list for each sem.

Could someone please tell me what I am doing wrong and how to gain research exp.? I see these profiles of these young kids with 3 years research and 2nd author publications and am dumbfounded. How do you find these opportunities??

Members don't see this ad.

Your high GPA should have balanced out your low MCAT score. Your military service would be considered a strong EC considering the leadership opportunities gnerally offered. Working in a peds office with patient contact is good clinical experience, but it was only 8 months in duration (most have a year and a half when they apply). The FD volunteering would be looked at as community service and EMT shadowing, and again was of brief duration (most have a year and a half of community service). I see no physician shadowing which is considered very important by many med schools.

Now that it's a year later, presumably you've improved these lacking aspects of your application. Did you list anything under sports, the Arts, hobbies, etc to make yourself a well-rounded, interesting person? If you've read these forums much, you know you need to apply in early June, especially if your application isn't optimal. Unless you plan to sit out a year, I see no point in starting a research experience that would not be on your application.