Wake Forest vs. ECU

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Kath215

10+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hi,

I'm a NC resident and I'm currently deciding between Wake Forest and ECU for the class of 2008. I'm an undergrad at Wake now so I'm familiar with the school, love the med school and its curriculum, and think I'd be the happiest there, but I can't decide if it's worth an extra $100,000+ in debt/loans. ECU is cheap, but I'm not sure I want to go into primary care, which is its emphasis....Any advice would be very much appreciated! Is it worth it to sacrifice Wake's reputation for a much cheaper medical education?

Thanks so much!

Members don't see this ad.

Just because a school emphasizes primary care really has nothing to do with what you can go into after school. For example, Penn State has a primary care emphasis but less than 10% of our class will be going into primary care. You should pick the school where you will be happier and do better.

C

I, too, battled with whether or not Wake Forest is worth the extra money over my state school. I spoke with a lot of doctors who insisted that I should save my money because it would matter very little in the long run where I went to medical school provided that I work hard and get a good residency. Ultimately, however, I decided to go where I thought I would be happiest, regardless of price. I loved Wake Forest when I interviewed, and I decided that I would probably be more motivated and successful wherever I was happiest. I admit that the additional cost is daunting, but what better to spend your money on than your education? Good luck with your decision, and perhaps I will see you in a few months!

Members don't see this ad :)