Walgreens Pharmacist Advancement??

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

golf299

15+ Year Member
Reaction score
I'm looking into Walgreens and one day want to be out of the pharmacy and into management. From what I understand you have to become a Store Manager first?? Does this sound right? A PHARMACY valuing a store manager over all else? Can anyone explain that logic?

Members don't see this ad.

You're old.

Lol. He must be really new to WAGS. The store manager is the boss and calls all the shots. They even determine workflow and all pharmacy decisions except DURs. Additionally, the store manager earns more than the pharmacy manager through bonus.

Reactions: 1 users
Members don't see this ad :)
I am new to Walgreens.... Having a hard time wrapping my head around how a store manager knows how to execute workflow and other pharmacy strategies more effectively than a pharmacist living it every day. Again.... What's the logic, Walgreens!?!?

What???????? This is the most backward thread ever. I'm sorry if your store manager is running your pharmacy, it's probably because your not following workflow. Walgreens has a workflow expectation. Just follow it. Sometimes you make expectations but for the most part it works.

Store managers making more than rxm. Haven't seen or heard of this. Sometimes RXM makes more than District managers depending on experience,tier level pharmacy and pharmacy metrics. Tier 4 pharmacy manager bonuses typically range between 12K to 25K. Add that to a 140K salary. I doubt the store manager is pulling those numbers, unless he is getting a 100K bonus .

Reactions: 3 users