WAMC? 3.54 cGPA, 3.53 sGPA, 516 MCAT

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Mr. Peanutbutter

5+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hi everyone,

I'm brand new to SDN and I'm planning on applying to med school in the upcoming cycle (starting June 2019). I am currently only considering MD schools for a number of reasons, the main one being that I am worried about residency placement as a DO compared to MD. I originally wanted to go into Biotech/Pharma but my clinical research jobs have changed my mind about healthcare and so I want to apply to med schools. I'm planning on applying to MD schools and a few SMP's if I don't get into MD schools and reapplying after I get my Masters. I was hoping someone could do a WAMC on me given the follow information?

Sex: Male
Race: White
Home State: NY (Syracuse)
Education: Private Liberal Arts college, BA in Biochemistry (2016). Did a semester abroad at the University of St Andrews in Scotland and also took Physics I/II with labs at another private college near my hometown over one summer
cGPA: ~3.54 using the ACMAS adjuster I found on SDN, had some issues sophomore year dealing with stress of Orgo/Bio at the same time (got a B- in Orgo and a C in Bio, but A's in both labs. That was my only C in college) and several deaths in the family but steadily improved over time. GPA last semester of college was a 3.8. Since Graduating, I've taken a few upper level bio courses at community college while working full time and gotten A's in them.
sGPA: ~3.53
MCAT: 516 (129/129/129/129)
Specialty Interests: Pediatrics, NICU, OB/GYN
LOR: Hematologist from MSK, Supervisor from MSK, Endodontist from Syacuse, Alumni Association President from my college, research adviser from college, chem teacher I had 5 classes with in college, philosophy professor from my abroad program.

Research: